Meet the Mentees: Post # 12

Last roll call for our Class of 2017!

Mentee: Tina Yogore
 
Mentor: Sheena Boekweg
 
Title: The Mind Bewitched
 
Genre: YA Fantasy
 
Questions:
 
When did you start writing? When I was in the third grade, I wrote this “book” about a boy who loved soccer so much that he wished that it would never rain so he could play all day. It was incredibly deep and intellectual, obviously.
 
What inspired your #TeenPit project? My Socials teacher showed us a documentary about witches. Ever since then, I’ve been in love with the ideas of magic and witches. I also read this book called A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. It made me wonder about the complexity of humanity.
 
Who is your favorite author? Patrick Ness. Ask any of my friends, they’ll tell you I talk about how much I love his books way too much.
 
What is your favorite book? My default answer is The Picture of Dorian Gray but I genuinely mean it when I say I cannot pick. Books are like people; they’re full of emotion and many of them can mean a lot to you in a thousand different ways. Would you ask someone who their favourite person is?
 
Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc?
I’m not qualified to give any, but my advice would be just to be thankful for every opportunity you get to write and share it. In honesty, the general rule is live your with gratitude, because there are so many reasons to be thankful.
______________________________________________________________________________
Leave a Reply

