Meet the Mentees: Post #9

Congrats to more of our #TeenPit Class of 2017!

 

Mentee: Diana Nova

Mentor: Judi Lauren

Title: Like Hurricanes

Genre: YA Contemporary

Questions:

When did you start writing? I wrote my first poem when I was 7 years old. It was awful, but at the time I thought it was revolutionary. I never really wrote stories, although I liked the idea of it. Then, in November 2015, I started writing Like Hurricanes. It’s the first novel I’ve ever written.

What inspired your #TeenPit project? Honestly, I don’t remember. I think the original idea was to create a character that I thought wasn’t very common in the YA genre. Then, as I started writing and developing the story, everything changed completely.

Who is your favorite author? George Orwell.

What is your favorite book? The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? “Don’t wish it was easier, wish you were better.”

______________________________________________________________________________

Mentee: Julia DeValk

Mentor: Sharon Johnston

Title: Chosen

Genre: YA Fantasy

Questions:

When did you start writing? I started writing short stories when I was in elementary school. I always began stories but never seemed to finish them until later in seventh or eighth grade when I really started to write more.

What inspired your #TeenPit project? I was actually daydreaming on my way to church and came up with the idea. Of course the story and plot have evolved a LOT since then but it grew into the manuscript I have now.

Who is your favorite author? My favorite author has got to be Marissa Meyer. I am always on the edge of seat waiting for her next book to come out!

What is your favorite book? There are so many great books out there but my favorite has to be either The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien or Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? Just keep going. There have been so many times when I have had writers block or just felt stuck in my story. Read more books, visit a library, do whatever it takes to get out of your creative funk and then write. And always listen to mentors or teachers who are helping you with your writing, chances are they have a lot more experience than you.

 

Leave a Reply

