Meet the Mentees: Post #7

Mentee: Lyric Shard

Mentor: Kristen Lepionka

Title: GHOSTS DON’T KILL

Genre: YA Mystery

Questions:

  1. When did you start writing? I have been writing since I can remember, but I wrote my first piece worth reading when I was seven. Then I burnt those ten pages. Literally.
  2. What inspired your #TeenPit project? When you go to a military school and grow up with parents in military, you learn pretty fast that showing emotion is taboo. I just thought of all the things my friends and I have faced for failing to ‘man up’ or ‘handle things’, and wrote something where a character could both be emotional and strong at the same time. Then of course, my inner detective came in and changed the direction of the story.
  3. Who is your favorite author? It changes all the time, but right now it’s Marieke Nijkamp
  4. What is your favorite book? Every book I’ve ever read. That will be a long list so I’ll narrow it down to The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I related to and at the same time felt so jealous of Charlie.
  5. Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? “Don’t feel insecure about your writing just because you are young and inexperienced. The age doesn’t matter, and the only way to be experienced is to get out there and enter contests, have your work critiqued, reviewed, polished by mentors (that’s the best thing you can have). So, step up and have fun.”

________________________________________________________________________

Mentee: Jessalynn Vincent

Mentor: Kerbie Addis

Title: OUT OF MY MIND

Genre: YA Science Fiction

Questions:

  1. When did you start writing? I started writing in 2013 when my English teacher allowed us to write a short story for an assignment. Ever since then, I’ve had words flowing from my brain to paper/Word documents.
  2. What inspired your #TeenPit project? I had just finished reading SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi and I loved the book so much that I came up with the plot for OUT OF MY MIND almost instantly!
  3. Who is your favorite author? There’s so many, I don’t think I could choose, haha.
  4. What is your favorite book? CONFESS by Colleen Hoover
  5. Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? Your mentor isn’t there to scrape your project of everything that it is. He/she is there to help you, willingly. Take advantage of that.
Leave a Reply

