Meet the Mentees: Post #3

Welcome to the #TeenPit Class of 2017!

Mentee: Angela Wang

Mentor: Lyndsay Ely

Title: ALL THOSE WHO WANDER

Genre: YA Sci-Fi

Questions:

  1. When did you start writing? Farther back than I can remember! (Eight? Nine?) My first “novel” was actually a picture book about unicorns, done in gel pen.
  2. What inspired your #TeenPit project? I don’t think I can put my finger on one thing, actually. I started it so long ago and it’s slowly morphed into what it is today through basically just absorbing a bunch of ideas I get from new things I’m interested in.
  3. Who is your favorite author? Markus Zusak. His writing is just beautiful.
  4. What is your favorite book? The Book Thief.
  5. Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? Don’t let your age hold you back, and don’t give up! Writing can often mean a lot of rejections, but as long as you keep at it, you’ll keep improving.

__________________________________________________________________________

Mentee: True Sloan
Mentor: Gracie West
Title: SHE’S A HURRICANE
Genre: YA contemporary
Questions:
  1. When did you start writing? I started writing when I was twelve.
  2. What inspired your #TeenPit project? Two years ago this girl told me a story and I thought she was so strong and I wanted to write about a character like that.
  3. Who is your favorite author? My favorite author is either Melina Marchetta or Kasie West. I can’t decide!
  4. What is your favorite book? BY YOUR SIDE by Kasie West (Dax Miller is babe)
  5. Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? Be kind and respectful of your mentors time and always thank them for everything they do.
Leave a Reply

