Meet the Mentees: Post # 2

Get to know our #TeenPit Class of 2017!

Mentee: Rachel Lachmansingh

Mentor: Ashley D. MacKenzie

Title: I’M DISAPPOINTED

Genre: YA Contemporary

  • When did you start writing? I started writing back in June of 2014! Since then, I’ve completed seven novels, and am currently drafting number eight.
  • What inspired your #TeenPit project? Something my dad said in good fun actually inspired this novel. On top of that, my love for music was a huge factor in inspiring this novel and its characters.
  • Who is your favorite author? I don’t really have a favourite author, but if I had to choose, it’d be Jesse Andrews or Alexandra Bracken!
  • What is your favorite book? My all-time favourite book is The Host by Stephenie Meyer, though Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places is a close second.
  • Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? Don’t be afraid to kill your darlings. It might seem scary to cut something from your book that you particularly liked, but if it doesn’t contribute to the overall story, hold onto it for yourself and never be scared of cutting it from the manuscript. Also: never be afraid of the skills you developed just because you’re young! Practice and love your craft, no matter what.

_____________________________________________________________________

Mentee: Brooke Lamberti

Mentor: McKelle George

Title: Developing Negatives

Genre: YA historical fiction

Questions:

  1. When did you start writing? That’s hard to say. If you count from when I was a kid, I would write short plays all the time. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I really fell in love with poetry. That slowly transformed into a certain sense of motivation that tunneled me into the spiral of a class I call creative writing. I dove straight into writing this school year, and I don’t plan on ever looking back.
  2. What inspired your #TeenPit project? I woke up one time in the dead of night and had an epiphany. I do collect typewriters and old cameras, and I’m in love with the band Fleetwood Mac, but other than that, I must have been dreaming some odd things.  
  3. Who is your favorite author? John Green- that may sound typical compared to most kids my age, but his voice is just so honest and inspiring, it’s how I aspire to write.
  4. What is your favorite book? Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky
  5. Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? As one of the world’s biggest procrastinators, you can’t just find time, you have to make time. Most importantly, ENJOY IT. Enjoy what you write, edit, and work with. If you don’t, see how you can change it to better suit your interest. It’s a work of art straight from your mind, and putting something so raw in front of the eyes of someone else can be nerve wrecking. However, some of the most well known authors have been rejected endlessly until they snagged an agent. Put your words up on that easel and let other people pick it apart. In the end, it’s what matters to you. A mentor may have the red marker, but you still have the final say. Accept change, accept advice, and accept the fact that you deserve this– you’ve written a whole book!

 

Leave a Reply

