Meet the Mentees: Post # 1

Welcome to Meet the Mentees!

Mentee: Ellie Firestone

Mentor: Lisa Schunemann

Title: The Dreamon

Genre: YA Contemporary Fantasy

Questions:

  1. When did you start writing? I think I wrote my first story when I was around three. I couldn’t physically hold a pen yet, so I had to dictate to my mom.

  2. What inspired your #TeenPit project? About eighteen months ago, I took a nap in the middle of the day and dreamed about being chased by a demon, who told me that the only way I could escape from her was to wake up. When I eventually did, I thought my experience would make a cool book, and it jut grew from there.

  3. Who is your favorite author? Probably Scott Westerfeld, because I’ve read several of his books and liked them all (especially Afterworlds)

  4. What is your favorite book? Divergent by Veronica Roth. It was the first YA book I ever read, and I completely fell in love.

  5. Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? When your mentor gives you tips about revising, listen to them, even if what they’re suggesting is a lot of work. Chances are, making the changes will be more than worth it.

_____________________________________________________________________

Mentee: Sophia Duong Southard

Mentor: K. Kazul Wolf

Title: A POOL OF DEAD BUTTERFLIES

Genre: YA Fantasy

Questions:

  1. When did you start writing? When I was fourteen. Before that, I absolutely hated writing but one teacher in particular especially encouraged me to write. She thought I should become an author or a journalist and here we are three years later. 😀

  2. What inspired your #TeenPit project? This is going to sound so cliched but a dream. It wasn’t even a vivid dream I just had this image of a beast towering over me and he had a bird mask on… and I was scared for my life.

  3. Who is your favorite author? Laini Taylor

  4. What is your favorite book? It’s a close tie between Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Wuthering Heights. Daughter of Smoke and Bone has influenced me more in my writing but Wuthering Heights introduced me to unlikable characters and oh so redeemable love.

  5. Is there a piece of advice you’d like to give other teen writers about revising, working with a mentor, entering a contest, etc? Your first draft is about yourself. Just hammer it out and don’t look back until you finish typing THE END. Afterwards, during revision, get other eyes on your MS whether it be CP’s, beta readers, or a mentor looking at it. Their feedback will push you to become the best writer and storyteller you can be. And patience! We have all the time in the world to get an agent, get a book deal, don’t rush this wonderful process!
Leave a Reply

