#TeenPit Entry # 2 – THE MYSTERIOUS HAUNTINGS OF CHLOE HART, Paranormal YA

Pitch: Anxiety-ridden, sixteen-year-old Chloe Hart wants to save the world on her mission trip to Costa Rica. But when Chloe tumbles into the year 1920 in a Costa Rican sanatorium, she’ll have to save herself first, or she and her friends will become yet more ghosts in the most haunted place in the country.
First page of manuscript
I’m going to save the world.

But first we have to land. I pull down the screen that covers the small window next to me. I’m nervous to look out, but it’s also all I want to do. I blink in discomfort at the bright rays flooding my vision.

And then I can see.

The small view from my window is enough to give me chills—it’s beautiful. Through the clouds, I can just make out the edge of the white beach far below us. The plane is freezing, mostly because I’m just wearing the group t-shirt, with the initials S.T.W. on the front so the mentors will be able to spot me in the airport. I was hoping I would see someone else on my plane with the same shirt, but no such luck. Now I’m beginning to question why I just didn’t put a sweater on. I pull my legs to my chest and wrap my arms around them, trying to keep all my body heat in. In the seatback in front of me there’s an in-flight magazine sitting in the pocket on it. COSTA RICA is in big capital letters on the top of the page. A wave of nausea hits me. I look through the window again, and my stomach clenches. I can hardly breathe, I want to go home, I want to go to Costa Rica. I’m not sure if I can do this.

Leave a Reply

