#TeenPit Entry #17 – YOUR HOUSE, MY RULES, YA Contemporary

Pitch:

When orphan Alexia meets her latest fresh start, the too-good-to-be-true Gems, they make her an offer: live in their house by her rules. If she doesn’t take it, she’ll be returned to Golders Institute for Troubled Youth. Alexia must find the courage to find her place with the Gems, or fear will land her back where she thinks she belongs.

First page of manuscript:

When your world falls apart, there are plenty of ways to put it back together. You can sew the frayed seams so it regains its shape. You can flip a switch to restore the gravity. You can even plug each hole and seal every crevice. Do whatever you want. It won’t matter. There’s nothing you’ll be able to do about the scars. They’ll swell past your facades and crack your masks, a constant pain you can’t kill or escape.

Unless you’re me.

“What do you think she wants?” Jamie paced the length of our room as I stood by the door.

I shrugged. “Maybe she wants to give me a million dollars and an all-expenses-paid trip around the world.” Jamie rolled his eyes like I wasn’t taking this seriously and paced faster. I tried again. “Or, maybe –”

“Maybe she wants to send you away again,” Nate interrupted, arms crossed. The three of us stared at each other, silent. I glanced between them, past what everyone else saw. Because when I looked at Nate, I didn’t see a broken boy who lived at the bottom of a bottle, and when I looked at Jamie, I didn’t see a walking rap-sheet, either. I saw my two brothers I would literally die for, even though they weren’t really my brothers. Just like this room wasn’t really ours, and this house wasn’t really our home.

“Yeah,” I said softly. “Maybe that.”

Leave a Reply

