#TeenPit Entry #14 – SHE’S A HURRICANE, YA Contemporary

Pitch: 

THIS RAGING LIGHT meets NOWHERE BUT HERE.

Flare will do whatever it takes to protect her six-year-old brother from their abusive parents. Break a few laws. Flee to a new city. Room with a sexy stranger named Gage. Flare just can’t fall in love, not when she’s on the run.


First page of manuscript
:

To say I walked on a high wire would be an understatement. I jumped, falling head first to the ground like the risk taker I was.

“Flare Fighter.” The landlord’s eyes scan the papers carefully, taking in every detail of the forged documents as we sit across from each other in her nearly vacant office. “Interesting. Sounds fake.”

My heart races nervously as I fight the urge to laugh in hysteria. Of course the name my parents gave me would be my undoing. Ironically, it’s actually one of the only truths I told her, but obviously, she can’t tell what’s true or false. That’ll work in my favor. Even so, it’s best to look anywhere but her eyes, because if I do, she’ll see the lie plastered to my face. My sixth grade teacher planted the notion in my head.

Eyes are windows to the soul, Flare. Eyes hold no deceit.

She told me this when I lied to her about where the bruises on my arms came from. After that, I stopped looking people in the eye whenever I told a lie.

I nod slowly, as my vision blurs with fatigue. “Yeah, it’s not a name you hear everyday.” I tell her, glancing around the small white-walled office.

The landlord’s eyebrows furrow thoughtfully as if she’s having an internal debate as to her next question. This is it, I’m busted.

Leave a Reply

